Election Results 2019: DMK- Congress Lead In 37 Out Of 38 Lok Sabha Seats

The DMK- Congress alliance is showing up a lead in 37 out of 38 Lok Sabha seats, sparing a single lead for the AIADMK-BJP alliance. In 22 crucial bypoll results, the AIADMK is leading in 11 and the DMK in nine. The 38 Lok Sabha seats in Tamil Nadu is sharing the leads with assembly bypolls that will decide the fate of the E Palaniswami and O Panneerselvam’s AIADMK government.

The election result will also end the question of who the public thinks is capable of carrying the mantle of Dravidian pride following the death of Jayalalithaa and Karunanidhi.

The latest from TN election and bypoll result:

Dayanidhi Maran has taken the lead in Chennai Central. In Kanyakumari, Congress candidate H Vasanthakumar is leading.

In the fight for bypolls, the DMK is leading in eight and AIADMK is leading in 11. The survival of the ruling EPS-OPS government depends on the outcome of the by-elections even as exit polls have predicted victory for DMK in both general elections and assembly bypolls.

The DMK with 88 legislators has to win all 22 seats to take its tally, along with Congress (eight) and IUML (one) to 119, that is just one number over the simple majority.

In the 234 member Tamil Nadu Assembly, the ruling AIADMK has 114 members (including the Speaker), the DMK has 88, the Congress has eight, while IUML and Independents are one each. To attain a simple majority, the AIADMK has to win just four seats in the by-elections. In order to be comfortable safe, the AIADMK has to win eight or nine assembly seats.

Congress’s Karthi Chidambaram is leading in Sivagangai.

AIADMK’s MSR Rajavarman leads in Sattur by-election

BJP candidate CP Radhakrishnan is leading in Coimbatore Lok Sabha seat.

The Congress is leading in Trichy district while, interestingly, CPI(M) has picked up leads in Madurai. The AIADMK has so far not opened its account yet.

DMK candidate is also leading in the Thiruporur assembly bypoll.

The DMK, which has entered into an alliance with Rahul Gandhi-led Congress, is leading in Thoothukudi, Nilgiris, Thiruvallur, Arakonnam and Namakkal so far.

The Congress party’s H. Vasanthakumar, representing the Nanguneri assembly constituency, is contesting in the Lok Sabha polls from Kanyakumari constituency and it will be interesting to see which seat he would opt to retain in case he wins the Lok Sabha polls.

The Lok Sabha polls saw four-cornered contests between the two major fronts led by the AIADMK and DMK, respectively, the AMMK floated by Sasikala’s nephew and Independent MLA Dhinakaran and the Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) started by actor-politician Kamal Haasan. Both the AMMK and MNM made their electoral debut.